Middle Tier Acquisition Programs

Middle Tier Acquisition Programs

Number of Middle Tier of Acquisition Programs initiated as of March 2019 (Source GAO-19-439).

  Rapid Prototyping Rapid Fielding TOTAL
Air Force 20 4 24
Army 8 0 8
Navy 3 0 3
TOTAL 31 4 35

Note: Does not include MTA programs by SOCOM or DISA

Air Force

Air Force Applying Rapid-Acquisition Authorities to Nine Programs, Air Force Magazine, Jan 2019

  • SM-2 Block 3C Seeker
  • SM-6 Rocket Motor
  • Integrated Visual Augmentation System (IVAS) / Heads Up Display (HUD)
  • Standoff Activated Volcano Obstacle (SAVO)
  • Next Generation Squad Weapons (NGSW)
  • Extended Range cannon Artillery (ERCA)
  • Lower Tier Air and Missile Defense Sensor (LTAMDS)
  • Mobile Protective Firepower (MPF)
  • Next Generation Combat Vehicle (NGCV)


Know of any other programs that have officially been approved to use Section 804 Middle Tier Acquisition?
Send us an email with any source reference aida@mitre.org.

Share This